Election of new Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach Louth County Council

Election of new Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach Louth County Council

25th June 2021: Louth County Council Annual General Meeting took place on Monday 21st June.  The order of business of the AGM saw a new Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach elected by Louth County Council Elected Members as required under Section 36 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Dolores Minogue opened the AGM and advised it had been her privilege to carry out the role of Cathaoirleach.  Cllr. Minogue took the opportunity to remember those lost to Covid in Louth during the year, and to give praise to the community spirit, sense of kindness and empathy shown by the people of Louth to their friends and family in times of sadness.

Cllr. Minogue commended staff for maintaining essential services throughout COVID, and for progressing important initiatives such as Louth in Bloom and the Mid Louth Action Plan for Young People which she was proud to be part of.  She thanked her fellow councillors for all their assistance over her term as Cathaoirleach and for their ongoing dedication to the people of Louth. 

Councillors present praised Cllr. Minogue on her work as Cathaoirleach and in particular her efforts and time in chairing the County Development Plan meetings.

Cllr. Minogue then called for nominations for her replacement and following election with saw Cllrs. Pio Smith, and Pearse McGeough nominated, Cllr. Pio Smith was called to the chair of Louth County Council.

Cllr. Dolores Minogue wished the incoming Cathaoirleach well and vacated her seat as Cathaoirleach to make way for Cllr. Pio Smith. Cathaoirleach-Cllr-Pio-Smith.pdf (size 204.1 KB)

 On taking the chair, the new Cathaoirleach Cllr. Smith, thanked Members for their support and said he looked forward to working with everyone during the year ahead; those who voted for him, and those who didn’t.  As an Elected Member since 2011, he remarked on the difficulty in being a politician and not being able to please everyone.  Noting the changes of faces over the years Cllr Smith observed that while it is sad to see people go, it was exciting to see new faces coming into the chamber bringing a great range of experience to draw from. He gave tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach and her work in maintaining relationships over the past 12mths and hoped to continue that into his term.

Members welcomed Cllr Smith to the role of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Smith then called for nominees for Leas Cathaoirleach, and following election which saw both Cllrs. James Byrne and Joanna Byrne nominated, Cllr. James Byrne was deemed elected Leas Cathaoirleach in accordance with Section 37 of the Local Government Act.

On behalf of the Council the Chief Executive, Joan Martin congratulated Cllr. Pio Smith on his elevation to the Chair, and wished him a more normal year than the previous.  She congratulated all the outgoing Chairpersons and welcomed the incoming.  She advised that she was happy to meet and work with  Members.