Traveller Accommodation

Traveller Accommodation Programme

The Housing (Traveller Accommodation) Act, 1998 provides that traveller specific accommodation be provided where needed. Traveller Accommodation Programmes are statutory programmes adopted in this regard.

The following is the current programme which is for the period 2014-18:

Traveller Accommodation Programme 2014-2018 (Variation 1)

The following are previous programmes adopted:

Traveller-Accommodation-Programme 2019-2024

Traveller Accommodation Programme 2009-2013

Traveller Accommodation Programme 2005-2008

Travel Accommodation Programme Dundalk 2000-2004

Travel Accommodation Programme Drogheda 2000-2004

Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee

It also provides for the establishment of a Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee to oversee the preparation, implementation and review of any accommodation plan.

The current committee is made up as follows:

Councillor Liam Reilly, Chairman

Paddy Donnelly, Director of Housing

Aoife Lawler, Senior Executive Officer

Arja Cullen, Social Worker

Danielle McMahon, Social Woker 

Cllr Conor Keelan 

Cllr Dolores Minogue

Ms. Mary Matthews, Traveller Rep

Mr. Pat Ward, Traveller Rep

Ms. Jillann Harper, Traveller Rep

Ms. Bridget Maguire, Traveller Rep 

Ms. Daphne Boyle, Traveller Support Group

Traveller Accommodation Committee Minutes

Prohibition Areas

A number of locations have been designated as Prohibited Areas under Section 31 of the Local Government (Sanitary Services) Act 1948. These are located at:-