Strategic Policy Committees

Louth County Council operate four Strategic Policy Committees under a Statutory Scheme approved by the new council.

Louth County Council has considered and agreed a draft Strategic Policy Committee Scheme. A copy of the scheme is available in all the County Council public offices and libraries and is also available online.

Strategic Policy Committees advise and assist the Council in its work and are tasked with the formulation and development of policy for approval by Council.

Members of the public and interested parties are invited to make submissions in regard to the scheme to the undersigned no later than
5.00 pm on Friday 30th August 2019.

Submissions should be in writing or emailed to

Details of the draft Strategic Policy Committee Scheme can be viewed here: 
Louth County Council SPC Scheme 2019-2024

The 2014 - 2019 committees are as follows:-

  • Economic Development & Enterprise Support
  • Planning and Environment
  • Housing, Community Planning and Emergency Services
  • Infrastructure, European and Cross Border Affairs


Economic Development & Enterprise Support

Membership of the Committee is a follows:-

Cllr. Mark DeareyChairperson
Cllr. David SaurinLouth County Council
Cllr. Tomás SharkeyLouth County Council
Cllr. Kevin CallanLouth County Council
Cllr. Marianne ButlerLouth County Council
Cllr. Conor KeelanLouth County Council
Cllr. Pio SmithLouth County Council
Mr. Ciaran McDonnellAgriculture/Farming
Mr. Eddie PhelanDevelopment/Construction
Mr. Simon McCormackBusiness/Commercial
Mr. Pat MulliganCommunity/Voluntary
Ms. Karen DevineEnvironment/Conservation


Planning & Environment

Membership of the Committee is as follows:-

Cllr. Maria DoyleChairperson
Cllr. Peter SavageLouth County Council
Cllr. Tom CunninghamLouth County Council
Cllr. Antoín WattersLouth County Council
Cllr. Jennifer GreenLouth County Council
Cllr. Richie CulhaneLouth County Council
Cllr. John McGahonLouth County Council
Mr. Michael SmythAgriculture/Farming
Mr. Eddie PhelanBusiness/Commercial
Ms. Marian SloanCommunity/Voluntary
Mr. Ollan HerrEnvironment/Conservation


Housing, Community Planning and Emergency Services

Membership of the Committee is as follows:-

Cllr. Joanna ByrneChairperson
Cllr. Jim TenantyLouth County Council
Cllr. Maeve YoreLouth County Council
Cllr. Kevin MeenanLouth County Council
Cllr. Pearse McGeoughLouth County Council
Cllr. Paul BellLouth County Council
Cllr. Liam ReillyLouth County Council
Cllr. Tommy ByrneLouth County Council
Mr. Bill BaldwinDevelopment/Construction
Mr. Colm O'HanrahanTrade Union
Mr. Brian DoyleCommunity/Voluntary
Mr. Kevin MoranSocial Inclusion


Infrastructure, European and Cross Border Affairs

Membership of the Committee is as follows:-

Cllr. Emma CoffeyChairperson
Cllr. Oliver TullyLouth County Council
Cllr. Edel CorriganLouth County Council
Cllr. Kenneth FloodLouth County Council
Cllr. Colm MarkeyLouth County Council
Cllr. Frank GodfreyLouth County Council
Cllr. Dolores MinogueLouth County Council
Mr. Matthew McGreehanAgriculture/Farming
Mr. Paddy MaloneBusiness/Commercial
Mr. Martin FealyCommunity/Voluntary
Mr Sean ConnollyEnvironment/Conservation


Strategic Policy Committee (2014 - 2019) Minutes:-

SPC Housing & Community Minutes

SPC Economic Developmet & Enterprise Support Minutes

SPC Planning & Environment Minutes

SPC Infrastructure, European & Cross Border Affairs SPC


Strategic Policy Committee (2009 - 2014) Minutes:-

SPC Housing Minutes